Home

Who we are / our ambition

In 2009, railway enthusiast Wim Pater made a personal dream come true and bought a small meter-gauge steam locomotive from a locomotive dealer in England. Soon some good waggons and waggon bodies of former light railways in Pomerania followed. Most of these seemed  to be "hopeless cases" and nobody believed to see them running again. Today, the collection includes more than 80 meter gauge vehicles,  with around 20 freight cars in restored condition. 30 vehicles are under supervision of TBR GmbH (Selfkantbahn) as keeper by means of the German General Railway Act. In order to safeguard the preservation of the vehicles in the long term, we are seting up a nonprofit foundation that will provide the financial basis for the long-term preservation.

 .


Our mission

Most German narrow gauge heritage railways are nonprofit organizations that relay on volunteer work and finance their external costs through donations and fares. With the preservation of the vehicles collected in recent decades and the maintenance of track and infrastructure, the organizations have reached their working, organizational and financial limits.

Kleinbaan Service does not intend to set up a new heritage railway line, but cooperates with existing heritage railways and museums to support following targets:

  • Rescue metre gauge vehicles of German light railways from scrap and decay and store them protected from weather and vandalism under roof.

  • Restore vehicles with the highest possible standard to a authentically & operationally state ("mint condition") and - if possible and sensible - restore them to the original appearance on delivery. 

  • Provide restored vehicles in the sense of a pool to meter gauge heritage railways free of charge. In particular, enable heritage events and authentic special trains that the narrow gauge associations cannot afford on their own.

  • Ensure the long-term preservation of the restored railway vehicles by setting-up a foundation.

  • In the long run, errect a museum building on a suitable location where the vehicles are accessible to the public outside of their use on heritage railways.

  • Promote cooperation between the heritage railways and support the organizations in projects that exceed their own resources.

Startseite

Wer wir sind / was wir wollen

2009 machte der Eisenbahnfreund Wim Pater sich einen Lebentraums wahr und kaufte bei einem Lokhändler in England eine kleine meterspurige Dampflok. Kurz darauf folgten einige Güterwagen und Wagenkästen der ehemaligen Kleinbahnen in Pommern. Eigentlich alles hoffnungslose Fälle, von denen kaum ein Eisenbahnfreund glaubte, dass diese jemals wieder fahren würden. Heute umfasst die Sammlung über 80 Meterspurfahrzeuge, von denen rund 20 Güterwagen bereits aufgearbeitet sind. 30 Fahrzeuge sind bei der Touristenbahnen im Rheinland GmbH, dem EVU der Selfkantbahn, als Halter im Sinne des Allgemeinen Eisenbahngesetz eingestellt. Um die Erhaltung der Fahrzeuge langfristig abzusichern ist die Gründung einer Stiftung in Vorbereitung, aus deren Kapitalsock der Erhalt und die Unterbringung der Fahrzeuge dauerhaft finanziert wird.


Unsere Ziele

Meterspurige Museumsbahnen sind non-profit Organisationen, die von ehrenamtlicher Arbeit leben und ihre externen Kosten über Spenden und Fahrgeldeinnahmen finanzieren. Mit dem Erhalt der in den letzten Jahrzehnten gesammelten Fahrzeugen und dem Unterhalt von Strecke und Infrastruktur sind die Vereine arbeitsmäßig, organisatorisch und finanziell an Grenzen gestoßen.

Kleinbaan Service will kein weitere Museumsbahnstrecke aufbauen, sondern mit den existierenden Museumsbahnen und Eisenbahnmuseen kooperieren und verfolgt dabei folgende Zielen:

  • Fahrzeuge deutscher Kleinbahnen vor Verschrottung und Verfall retten und unter Dach geschützt aufbewahren.

  • Die Fahrzeug möglichst hochwertig, authentisch & betriebsfähig restaurieren und dabei - sofern möglich und sinnvoll - in den Auslieferzustand zurückversetzen.

  • Aufgearbeitete Fahrzeuge im Sinne eines Pools Museumsbahnen kostenlos zur Verfügung gestellt. Insbesondere sollen hier Inszenierungen ermöglicht werden und Züge fahren, die die Vereine im „normalen“ Museumsbahnbetrieb nicht alleine realisieren können.

  • Den langfristigen Erhalt der restaurieren Kleinbahnfahrzeuge durch die Gründung einer Stiftung sicherstellen.

  • Langfristig an geeigneter Stelle eine Museumshalle bauen in der die Fahrzeuge, außerhalb ihrer Einsätze bei Museumsbahnen, der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich sind.

  • Die Zusammenarbeit der Museumsbahnen fördern und die Vereine bei Projekten, die die Eigenmittel übersteigen, unterstützten.